A Call From The Garrigue.

The Caine Mutiny.

When I was just a little kid, one of the few things I can remember doing with my Dad was going to see the Caine Mutiny, because my Dad loved Humphrey Bogart.

The film was showing on TV on Christmas Day so I decided to watch it in a nostalgic sort of way.  I am glad I did. It was a great film.

When Bogart’s character Queeg, took over the Captaincy of the USS Caine,  in my innocence, just like the Officers of the ship, I found him to be a nasty man and I was in agreement when they decided he was mad.

During the course of the film, Queeg started to lose touch with reality and he appealed to the officers for help. He explained that even though they might not like him, he in fact had a wife and child and a little dog who thought he was quite nice. The officers were not impressed and offered him nothing. As a child I cannot even remember this scene.

I can however vividly remember the  Court Martial scene, because I thought that the nice officer was going to be hanged for taking control of the ship in the typhoon and I was glad when Queeg took out his ball-bearings and started to clink them, because I had gathered that this was a sign that he was indeed a madman.

But watching the same scene now, when Bogey drifted off into the world of strawberries and keys, and he suddenly became aware that his mind had wandered, was absolutely gut wrenching and nobody could have played that part the way Bogey did. I almost burst into tears. It was a master-class.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

